Hi Hoopers!

I'm new to the hooping community and I'm struggling a bit today.  I feel like I'm moving backwards with my learning, and it's me incredibly frustrated, I need some encouragement! 

Views: 256

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have definitely been there. I went through periods of being so frustrated that I just put the hoop down and walked away from it for anywhere from 20 minutes or 6 months. Sometimes it can help to slow down and focus on what you know and are comfortable with. Do you like hooping at the waist? Hoop at the waist! Do you have a trick you can do. Do that trick over and over again. 

And if you are really feeling discouraged, stop hooping for a bit! Do something else that will make you feel good. It's difficult to learn with feelings of discouragement and frustration in the way. 

You will get through this and you will look back and feel proud about how far you've come.

<3

We've all been there. Completely agree with Kaylin, slow down and hoop with what you're most comfortable with! Just feel it, and try not to think about it too hard.  When I was first learning basics, I would get so frustrated trying to get down a bunch of tricks I wasn't ready for yet, so I learned that it was best to slow down, and enjoy my time in the hoop. :) 

Love the Process. 

If you haven't seen it yet, watch this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmEwVC9x-h4

Safire is amazing. And this video gave me inspiration/motivation when I first started, and still does today! 

Thanks guys. I'm getting frustrated because I can't do new stuff. I just want it to make sense when I'm learning. I can hoop at the waist and do the lift and drop trick. All the tutorials make it look sooooo easy, and when I try to follow along I can't do stuff. Like controlling and moving the hoop up and down your body without using your hands?? I really want to be able to do that, but can't even come close to figuring it out. :(